Chinese Steamed Fish

As you all know, I am all about steaming. I love to steam food. It’s fun, easy and healthy. One of the reasons why I love dim sum soooo much! Since I was little, my mom and my grandma often made steamed food. My favorite dish of theirs was steamed fish. It’s so simple and yet so freakishly delicious and healthy. The way the fish just melts on your tongue and you can feel the freshness of the fish still lingering in it’s flesh! Just marvelous! And you get a whole new load of omega-3 fats which is what the body needs every now and then. I never asked how my mom and grandma made the fish. Instead I stood quietly by and watched them or just figured it out while eating. You can seriously taste everything ingredient. And it’s not a complex dish at all. The ingredients are simple and the preparation is kids play.

I usually use a whole fish, but my steamer is too small, so I had the guy at the market chop of the head and the tail for me.

Let’s go steam ’em up…

Time including cooking time: 25 minutes

Ingredients:

  • 1 whole fresh gutted fish (scales must be removed)
  • 2 spring onions
  • 4 slices of ginger
  • 1 large tomato
  • 3 tbsp soy sauce
  • 1 tbsp sesame oil

Utensils:

  • 1 Steamer
  • 1 chopping board
  • 1 kitchen knife

ToDo:

Wash your fish one more time and dab it dry with a paper towel. Lay it in your steamer basket. Make sure you use a steamer basket without wholes as the liquid has to stay with your fish. Now slice your tomato into 6 or 8 equal slices and lay them out around your fish. Chop up your spring onions and just sprinkle them all over, especially over the fish. Then add ginger around the fish as well. Now just pour your soy sauce and sesame oil over your fish and watch it drizzle down. Put your steamer basket into your steamer and steam for about 15 minutes, depending on how big and thick your fish is. Steam up some rice at the same time if you want or stir fry some veggies to go along with this genuine and delicious dish. Lecker smacker!

Leave a Reply

