Vegan South American Popcorn

Last year my friends gave me a great gift for my birthday. They got me tickets to a “around the world culinary trip”. It sounds fancier than it actually was, although I also do not want to make it sound lame, as it was a wonderful gift and an eye opening experience. I basically did some restaurant/shop hopping to international restaurants and shops in the city where I was presented with specialties from their native countries and received extensive and yet very interesting explanations of their products and food. And one of them just stuck with me. South American popcorn. I figured out that I could find these little goodies at an Asia shop nearby. Ironic huh? South American products at an Asia shop? Haha! Anyway lucky me I guess…The interesting and astonishing part about this popcorn is that it doesn’t turn into a puffy white ball like we are used to at the movies. It keeps it’s form and just looks a little roasted. But it’s crunchy and light and tasted just like the usual popcorn. I must say that I prefer south American popcorn if I have the choice.

Time: 5 minutes

Ingredients for 2 portions as a snack:

  • 100 gr maiz chulpe (peruvian popcorn)
  • 1 tbsp vegetable oil
  • 1 tsp salt

Utensils:

  • Large cooking pot

ToDo:

Add the oil and the popcorn to your large pot and heat it up at a high heat. As soon as you hear the first pop turn down the heat to medium straight away. Let the popcorn pop and roast for about 5 minutes and grab your pot by the handle and hold down the lid at the same time and shake the popcorn around. If the lid is too hot then use a dishcloth or oven mitts to help. Keep the pot on the stove until there are hardly any pop sounds left. Then remove the pot from the stove and open the lid. Add the salt and stir and serve. Lecker smacker!

Leave a Reply

