Goat Cheese, Baguette, Walnut Crust and Basil Pesto

This heavenly mixture of salty, sweet and bitter is a concoction to die for! I was inspired by a dish a friend of mine made once. Basically she used toast bread and goat cheese and used the crust of the toast together with honey as a crumble. But I was just daydreaming during my lunch break (yes, I am definitely someone who can think of other food while eating. Isn’t that the pure definition of a foodie? 😉 ) and started from the bottom up. I thought that baguette is a yummier and a classier choice. The goat cheese stuck, well duh! 😀 I thought that the honey was a perfect contrast to the salty cheese. But I needed a third sizzle on the tongue which sends yummy signals to the brain, so I thought that walnuts would do the job! And to add some color and a fourth sizzle without causing damage I chose to top it all off with a splash of basil pesto to make people question the integrity of this dish.

Well that is how this beauty was developed in my mess of thoughts.

Time: 15 minutes

Ingredients for 4 portions:

  • 1/2 baguette
  • 150 gr goat cheese
  • 40 gr walnuts
  • 2 tbsp honey
  • 10 ml apple juice
  • 4 tbsp basil pesto

Utensils:

  • Toaster
  • Frying pan
  • Baking tray
  • Bread knife
  • Kitchen knife
  • Cutting board
  • Small bowl

ToDo:

Preheat the oven to 180°C. Chop up the walnuts and roast them in a frying pan. But don’t forget the walnuts!  I tend to forget nuts in general when I am roasting them, until I start to ask myself what that burnt smell is. So be careful and remember the nuts, or you will go nuts! Add the walnuts together with honey and apple juice in a small bowl and stir well. Cut 8 slices of baguette and toast each slice lightly with a toaster. Then line your baking tray out with parchment paper. Lay the slices of baguette out on the tray and cut slices of goat cheese and cover the baguette slices with the goat cheese slices. Bake them for about 7 minutes or until the cheese has melted or turned light brown. Then take them out and cover your cheesy masterpiece with the walnut, honey and apple juice mixture. Lastly add a dash of pesto and you are done. Lecker smacker!

Leave a Reply

